HSF Staff

Nicole Fritz

Director

Nicole Fritz previously served as executive officer of Freedom Under Law (FUL) and founded and directed the Southern Africa Litigation Centre (SALC) for a decade. She has participated in several global initiatives relating to international human rights law, humanitarian law and public interest litigation. She has also taught courses relating to these subjects in South Africa and the United States and contributes public comment on these topics.

nicole@hsf.org.za


Rob Hewitt

General Manager

Rob Hewitt is a Chartered Accountant and joined the Helen Suzman Foundation after retirement having held senior Financial Management positions in the Barlows Group, Foster Wheeler and Independent Newspapers.

rob@hsf.org.za


Roshan Arnold

Office Administrator

Roshan Arnold has worked at various educational institutions in Administration roles. For the past 11 and a half years she was the Personnel Administrator at the Wits School of Governance at Wits University.

roshan@hsf.org.za


Charles Simkins

Senior Researcher

Charles Simkins is a distinguished Economist. He was Vice President and Professor of Economics at St Augustine College and formerly held the Helen Suzman Chair of Political Economy at Wits University. He is a former Rhodes Scholar and is a recipient of the Helen Suzman Chevening Fellowship, a UK Foreign Office award.

charles@hsf.org.za


Anton van Dalsen

Counsellor

Anton van Dalsen has extensive experience in the funding of the resources sector in South Africa and elsewhere in Africa, including 20 years at Investec Bank in this field.  After graduating with a BA (University of Pretoria) and a LLB (University of Stellenbosch), his initial work experience was in law and the Department of Foreign Affairs.

anton@hsf.org.za


Chelsea Ramsden

Senior Researcher

Chelsea has secured a LLB and LLM (Public International Law) at the University of Johannesburg. She recently returned from Dublin where she completed a LLM (International Human Rights Law) at University College Dublin as a Global Excellence Scholar. Chelsea’s work experience includes time as a law clerk at the Johannesburg High Court as well as the Constitutional Court of South Africa.

chelsea@hsf.org.za


Christopher Fisher

Senior Researcher

Christopher completed his master’s degree in philosophy at the University of the Witwatersrand, and lectured philosophy at various Gauteng universities. He then completed an LLB at the University of Cape Town, and his articles of clerkship at ENSafrica in their competition law department.

christopher@hsf.org.za


Seshni Govindasamy

Senior Researcher

Seshni Govindasamy graduated with an LLB and LLM (maritime law) from the University of KwaZulu-Natal, where she is currently a PhD candidate. She is an Attorney of the High Court of South Africa. Her legal experience includes time as an attorney, law clerk for Judge Malcolm Wallis of the Supreme Court of Appeal and research assistant for the Navi Pillay Research Group.

seshni@hsf.org.za


Josef Venter

Legal Researcher

Jos Venter holds an LLM in International Child Law, LLB degree and BCom Law degree at the North West University. He is an admitted attorney who completed his practical legal training in 2020 with Legal Aid South Africa, Pretoria Justice Centre in the civil department. In 2021, Jos was employed as a Law Clerk at the Constitutional Court of South Africa.

jos@hsf.org.za


Sophie Smit

Researcher

Sophie Smit is a graduate of Wits University with a BA (Law), LLB and LLM (human rights, advocacy and litigation). Sophie is passionate about justice and reducing inequality through the law in South Africa.

sophie@hsf.org.za


Mihloti Sherinda

Researcher

True justice is in community participation. My name is Mihloti Basil Sherinda and I hold an LLB, PDM and LLM (in Human Rights Advocacy and Litigation) at the University of the Witwatersrand. I have joined the Helen Suzman Foundation as a Legal Research Intern to further the true values of a constitutional democracy as they form part of my career aspirations.

mihloti@hsf.org.za


Wiseman Zondi

Researcher

Wiseman holds a BA in philosophy, politics and law, and an honours degree in philosophy at the University of KwaZulu-Natal, both earned cum laude. He has previously been identified as a UKZN Top 40 student. Wiseman is also a 2022 Rhodes Scholar-elect.

wiseman@hsf.org.za