HSF Staff

Nicole Fritz

Director

Nicole Fritz previously served as executive officer of Freedom Under Law (FUL) and founded and directed the Southern Africa Litigation Centre (SALC) for a decade. She has participated in several global initiatives relating to international human rights law, humanitarian law and public interest litigation. She has also taught courses relating to these subjects in South Africa and the United States and contributes public comment on these topics.

nicole@hsf.org.za


Rob Hewitt

General Manager

Rob Hewitt is a Chartered Accountant and joined the Helen Suzman Foundation after retirement having held senior Financial Management positions in the Barlows Group, Foster Wheeler and Independent Newspapers.

rob@hsf.org.za


Anton van Dalsen

Counsellor

Anton van Dalsen has extensive experience in the funding of the resources sector in South Africa and elsewhere in Africa, including 20 years at Investec Bank in this field.  After graduating with a BA (University of Pretoria) and a LLB (University of Stellenbosch), his initial work experience was in law and the Department of Foreign Affairs.

anton@hsf.org.za


Chelsea Ramsden

Senior Researcher

Chelsea has secured a LLB and LLM (Public International Law) at the University of Johannesburg. She recently returned from Dublin where she completed a LLM (International Human Rights Law) at University College Dublin as a Global Excellence Scholar. Chelsea’s work experience includes time as a law clerk at the Johannesburg High Court as well as the Constitutional Court of South Africa.

chelsea@hsf.org.za


Christopher Fisher

Senior Researcher

Christopher completed his master’s degree in philosophy at the University of the Witwatersrand, and lectured philosophy at various Gauteng universities. He then completed an LLB at the University of Cape Town, and his articles of clerkship at ENSafrica in their competition law department.

christopher@hsf.org.za


Josef Venter

Legal Researcher

Jos Venter holds an LLM in International Child Law, LLB degree and BCom Law degree at the North West University. He is an admitted attorney who completed his practical legal training in 2020 with Legal Aid South Africa, Pretoria Justice Centre in the civil department. In 2021, Jos was employed as a Law Clerk at the Constitutional Court of South Africa.

jos@hsf.org.za


Sophie Smit

Researcher

Sophie Smit is a graduate of Wits University with a BA (Law), LLB and LLM (human rights, advocacy and litigation). Sophie is passionate about justice and reducing inequality through the law in South Africa.

sophie@hsf.org.za


Prema Pillay

Consultant

Prema Pillay has considerable experience in the auditing environment having worked as a legal advisor in both the regulatory and private sector for 15 years. At the start of her career Prema worked as a state advocate for the NPA. She has a BCom degree and a postgraduate LLB degree from the University of KwaZulu-Natal and joined the HSF earlier in 2022.

prema@hsf.org.za


Divashnee Naidoo

Intern

Divashnee completed a BA (Political Science) cum laude at the University of KwaZulu Natal and is currently pursuing an LLB at the University of Cape Town. She has previously interned as a researcher at the Women's Legal Center and as a Political Risk and Data Analysis Intern at Voxcroft Analytics.

divashnee@hsf.org.za


Sannah Mokone

Researcher

Sannah Mokone is a Rhodes Scholar and an alumna of the Universities of Oxford and the Free State. With a multidisciplinary educational background spanning the humanities, social and business sciences, her forte is in Public Administration and Management. Sannah is an ardent public speaker and communicator, and has experience in the private and non-profit sectors.

sannah@hsf.org.za